Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority

Clean Water, Healthy Land For Healthy Communities


The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA), also known as Ganaraska Conservation, was formed in October 1946, under the Conservation Authorities Act, and is one of the oldest conservation authorities in Ontario.

The watersheds of the GRCA cover an area of approximately 935 square-kilometres, from Wilmot Creek in Clarington to east of Cobourg, from the south shore of Rice Lake down to Lake Ontario. This area includes seven municipalities in whole or in part: Township of Cavan Monaghan, Town of Cobourg, Township of Alnwick / Haldimand, Township of Hamilton, Municipality of Port Hope, City of Kawartha Lakes, Municipality of Clarington.

Double track trail in Central Ganaraska Forest

Ganaraska Forest

Come Experience Southern
Ontario’s Largest Forest 

Conservation Areas

Home to Some of the Oldest
Conservation Areas in the Province

Northern portion of the Garden Hill Conservation Area Pond