#### GANARASKA REGION CONSERVATION AUTHORITY

#### MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

May 19, 2022 (via Zoom)

# **GRCA 02/22**

#### 1. Welcome, Land Acknowledgement and Call to Order

The Chair called the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority (GRCA) Board of Directors meeting to order at 7:15 p.m.

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Mark Lovshin, Chair - Township of Hamilton

Jeff Lees, Vice - Chair - Municipality of Port Hope

Nicole Beatty - Town of Cobourg

Greg Booth - Township of Alnwick/Haldimand

Bruce Buttar - Agricultural Sector
Brian Darling - Town of Cobourg
Vicki Mink - Municipality of Port Hope
Joe Neal - Municipality of Clarington

Tracy Richardson - City of Kawartha Lakes Margaret Zwart - Municipality of Clarington

**ALSO PRESENT:** Linda Laliberte, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer

Ken Thajer, Planning and Regulations Coordinator

ABSENT WITH REGRETS:

**ALSO ABSENT:** Tim Belch - Township of Cavan Monaghan

# Land Acknowledgement

The Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority respectfully acknowledges that the land on which we gather is situated within the traditional and treaty territory of the Mississauga's and Chippewa's of the Anishinabek, known today as the Williams Treaties First Nations. Our work on these lands acknowledges their resilience and their longstanding contribution to the area. We are thankful for the opportunity to live, learn and share with mutual respect and appreciation.

# 2. Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest

None.

#### 3. Minutes of Last Meeting

**GRCA 12/22** 

MOVED BY: Nicole Beatty SECONDED BY: Tracy Richardson

**THAT** the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority approve the minutes of the March 17, 2022 meeting.

CARRIED.

# 4. Adoption of the Agenda

**GRCA 13/22** 

MOVED BY: Jeff Lees SECONDED BY: Brian Darling

**THAT** the Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority adopt the agenda. **CARRIED.** 

# 5. Delegations

None.

#### 6. Presentations

None.

# 7. Business Arising from Minutes

None.

# 8. Correspondence

None.

# 9. Applications under Ontario Regulation 168/06:

Permits approved by Executive:

**GRCA 14/22** 

MOVED BY: Greg Booth

**SECONDED BY:** Tracy Richardson

**THAT** the Board of Directors receive the permits for information.

CARRIED.

Permit Application requiring Ganaraska Region Conservation Authority Board of Directors discussion:

None

#### 10. Committee Reports:

a) Ganaraska Forest Recreational Users Committee Minutes

**GRCA 15/22** 

MOVED BY: Brian Darling SECONDED BY: Greg Booth

**THAT** the Board of Directors approve the fee schedule.

CARRIED.

Tracy Richardson, Board representative on the Recreational Users Committee, stated that at the April 7, 2022 meeting staff reported that the compliance rate has increased from 20% to 80%. The Board of Directors commended staff on the significant improvement in compliance.

**GRCA 16/22** 

**MOVED BY:** Tracy Richardson

**SECONDED BY:** Jeff Lees

**THAT** the Ganaraska Forest Recreational Users Committee minutes of the April 7, 2022 meeting be received for information.

CARRIED.

### 11. New Business:

a) Review of Per Diem, Honorarium and Mileage

**GRCA 17/22** 

MOVED BY: Vicki Mink SECONDED BY: Jeff Lees

**THAT** the Board of Directors approve the recommendations in the Per Diem, Honorarium and Mileage staff report and,

**FURTHER THAT** the rates be reviewed each year in preparation of the budget. **CARRIED.** 

b) GRCA Planning Review and Permit Fees Update

**GRCA 18/22** 

MOVED BY: Jeff Lees SECONDED BY: Vicki Mink

**THAT** the Board of Directors approved the updated fee schedule for review of Municipally circulated *Planning Act* Applications and review of applications made Ontario Regulation 168/06 in accordance with the attached schedule.

CARRIED.

#### 12. Other Business

a) 2022 Budget

**GRCA 19/22** 

MOVED BY: Brian Darling SECONDED BY: Nicole Beatty

**THAT** the Board of Directors approve the 2022 Budget. **CARRIED.** 

# 13. In Camera:

None.

14. Adjourn The meeting adjourned at	7:27 p.m.	
GRCA 20/22 MOVED BY: SECONDED BY:	Jeff Lees Nicole Beatty	
THAT the Board of Directo CARRIED.	rs adjourn the meeting.	
CHAIR	CAO/SECRETARY-TREASURER	